Gellert Hill & Citadel
Opening hours: 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. every day
Telephone: +36 1 4665-794, fax +36 1 3860-505
Category: Monument, edifice
Address: 1 Citadella Sétány, Gellért Hill, Budapest 1118
Location: North latitude: 47.487091 East longitude: 19.045432
The story of Gellert Hill with thousands of years of history dating back to the Celts and Romans. Archaeological finds have shown that a Roman watch-tower stood here as the farm and later a witch according to legend, St. Gerard, Bishop of martyrdom became famous and infamous venues as well.
The direct predecessor of today's fort the Pesti Royal Astronomical Observatory of the University building was in the nineteenth. first half of the century.
Above, period engravings, maps, and photographs of historical gallery show more interesting things you can learn the fascinating history of the Citadel and Gellérhegy. By public transport, the Citadel is easiest to reach by BKV bus 27 (busstop: Búsuló Juhász) from Móricz Zsigmond körtér; it is also accessible on foot in about 10-15 minutes along the footpaths of Gellért Hill. By car, our visitors can turn towards the Citadel from the northwest from Hegyalja út, following the road signs or from the south from Villányi út, then reach the Citadel along the route of Bus 27, as indicated on the map.